Toastmasters Testimonials – Abhishikta Chakraborty

Abhishikta Chakraborty
Abhishikta Chakraborty

I joined Toastmasters during a time when I was going through a sad phase in my life. I had always maintained blog of my own where I would document all the sadness of my life; and little did I realise that I was slowly turning into an ocean of negativity. I wrote my icebreaker mentioning everything that has been bad or sad in my life with no sign of light.

That is when my when my mentor, Toastmaster Alpana Das, taught me to try and give a positive takeaway for the audience, through my speeches. This was something that was completely opposite to my nature, however, I took the challenge. I rewrote my icebreaker, fishing for positive thoughts and positive experiences, delivered my speech which was well appreciated, to my wonder. It boosted my confidence immensely. Suddenly, I had become Toastmaster Obhishikta, and proudly so.

Post my icebreaker, there has been no turning back. Every time there has been an episode of sadness or disappointment in my life, I made sure I get myself a speech slot, just so that my mind gets completely occupied with the positive energy that Toastmasters is, and there remains absolutely zero room for anything that is remotely pessimistic.

Toastmasters have given the world the best of communicators and leaders, but to me, it has given my lost positivity in life. Today I have finished 2 paths and there has not been a single moment where I have not enjoyed opting for the projects. If there is anything close to Godliness that I have felt on earth, it is on Toastmasters stage (screen these days).

I owe my confidence and dreams to Toastmasters. Being a Toastmaster is a new identity that I am proud of. Grateful, thankful and forever in awe of the bundle of experiences that Toastmasters give us!

Of course, I would renew, this term and next, and many nexts to come,
For reasons, more than one.

Abhishikta Chakraborty- President, Stagecoach Toastmasters Club

#ToastmastersTestimonials

#GiveMoreGetMore

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started